South Africa

South Africa map

Region: Southern Africa


Passport Validity
Embassy states that passport must be: "...valid for thirty (30) more days after the intended return date from South Africa."
Yellow Fever
The World Health Organization reports (15 November 2018) no risk of yellow fever in South Africa. The government of South Africa requires proof of a yellow fever vaccination certificate for travellers arriving from or having transited through countries with risk of yellow fever transmission.
- Timaticweb states that transit without visa is available when: "...transiting through Cape Town (CPT), Durban (DUR), Johannesburg (JNB) or Lanseria (HLA) with a confirmed onward ticket for a flight to a third country...must stay in the international transit area of the airport and have documents required for the next destination."
- Timaticweb also warns: "Warning: All transiting passengers are subject to a check by immigration. Passengers in transit must hold passports or other documents accepted to enter South Africa."
Dual Nationality
U.S. policy on dual nationality can be found here.

Additional Notes

  1. State Dept. warns: "South Africa strictly enforces entry and exit requirements and other immigration laws. Failure to observe these requirements may result in the traveler being denied entry, detained, deported, and/or deemed inadmissible to enter South Africa in the future...South Africa requires travelers to have two completely blank visa pages in their passports upon every arrival in South Africa. You will be denied entry and forced to return to your point of origin if you do not have two blank visa pages."

COVID-19 Travel Alert

Updated: 2020-03-16
USA and other high-risk countries banned
(Source: South African Embassy in Washington DC)
  1. China (PRC), France, Germany, Iran, Italy, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, USA: Classed as high-risk areas - entry denied to all travellers travelling from or transiting through these areas until further notice.
  2. South Africa citizens are excepted and allowed entry.
  3. Visa waiver agreements with high-risk areas are suspended.
  4. Applications for visas by travellers from high-risk areas, or who have visited high-risk areas in the past 20 days, will be denied. Visas already issued are revoked with immediate effect for travellers that have not yet entered South Africa.
  5. Travellers who need to travel to South Africa for emergency or compelling reasons may contact the nearest South African mission or consulate to apply for a visa. Such visa applications will be considered on merit and on a case-by-case basis.