Malaysia map

Region: Southeast Asia


Passport Validity
6 months
Other Documents
A visitor is also required to prove his financial ability to stay in Malaysia and possess a confirmed return travel ticket or a travel ticket to a third country.
- Holders of confirmed onward tickets, arriving at and departing from Kuala Lumpur (KUL), are permitted transit without visa in international transit area for up to 24 hours. Transit without a visa is not available between Main Terminal and KLIA2.
Dual Nationality
The Bureau of Consular Affairs, U.S. Department of State warns: "Malaysia does not recognize or permit dual nationality. If Malaysian authorities learn that you are a U.S.-Malaysia dual national, they may require you to immediately forfeit your U.S. passport or your Malaysian citizenship. U.S.-Malaysia dual nationals should consider this issue seriously before traveling to Malaysia".
U.S. policy on dual nationality can be found here.

Additional Notes

  1. Travelers may apply to the Immigration Department for emergency extensions of up to two months.
  2. Some emergency or temporary passports do not qualify for visa exemption: check Timaticweb for details.
  3. Any person classified under Section 8 of Immigration Act 1959/63 will not be allowed to enter Malaysia even though he/she is in possession of a valid Passport or Travel Document, Visa, travel ticket and sufficient funds.