Cyprus map

Region: Middle East-West Asia

Pandemic Travel Alert

PARTIALLY OPEN: only accepting leisure travel from or to designated areas

Updated: 2020-06-20


General Policy
  1. Starting June 9, the flight suspension in effect since March 21 has been lifted and airports are reopened.
  2. Travellers will need to apply online for a «Cyprus Flight Pass». In general, only travellers from countries designated as category A or B are accepted. The list of countries designated as A or B will be updated weekly, and is available on the application website. All other countries are designated as category C. In general, only persons legally residing in Cyprus are permitted to fly to Cyprus from countries designated as category C.
  1. "Coronavirus: First departures and arrivals from Larnaca airport (Update 2)"
  2. Cyprus Flight Pass

Entry Requirements

(Source: Prerequisites for travelers flying to the Republic of Cyprus [PDF download] )

  1. Starting 20 June 2020, travellers from category B and C countries must take a PCR test during the last 72 hours before their travel, and possess a certificate which confirms negative PCR for Covid-19, issued from a certified laboratory.
  2. Cyprus citizens and legal residents have the option of either arranging themselves a COVID-19 test 72 hours before their travel, or having this test performed upon entry to Cyprus, at their own expenses.
  3. Travellers arriving from category A countries are randomly tested on entry. (Source: "COVID19: Cyprus praised for airport testing regime")
Data Collection
  • The application for a «Cyprus Flight Pass» requires submission of the following information:
    1. Flight details
    2. Reason for travel
    3. Personal information and contact details
    4. Temporary address in Cyprus
    5. Emergency contact details
    6. Health declarations
  1. Cyprus Flight Pass - Information Required
  2. Passenger Locator Form [PDF download]
  1. IF traveller chooses to have the test performed upon entry, AND they are either (1) from a category B country or (2) from a category C country and staying 4 days or less, THEN they will self-isolate in their own residence until the test results are completed. If the test result is positive, they will remain in a state of mandatory isolation (quarantine).
  2. Travellers from a category C country who are staying for more than 4 days will be placed in compulsory self-isolation for 14 days either at their residence or, in case they do not have a residence in Cyprus, at a place that will be indicated to them by the Republic of Cyprus.


No info


No info

Pre-pandemic visa rules


Passport Validity
European Union passports: must be valid on the date of return. Non EU passports require three months validity on the date of return.
Other Documents
Travellers require proof of sufficient funds and a return airline ticket.
- Holders of confirmed onward tickets are permitted transit without visa in international transit area for up to 24 hours.
Dual Nationality
U.S. policy on dual nationality can be found here.

Additional Notes

  1. Exemption also applies for passports of British Overseas Territories.
  2. For the following passports, visa exemption applies only for biometric passports: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Macedonia, Georgia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, Ukraine.
  3. Regarding the territories under Turkish Cypriot occupation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs warns: "Currently, it is possible for foreign visitors who visit the government-controlled area of the Republic of Cyprus, to cross to the occupied areas. Staying in Greek Cypriots’ property, including hotels in the occupied areas, which are being illegally exploited, would put you at great risk of possible legal action on the part of the owners. Travelers entering the Republic of Cyprus via the illegal / closed airports and ports (i.e. all the airports and ports in the occupied areas), are in breach of national law of the Republic of Cyprus".