South Korea (ROK)

South Korea (ROK) map

Region: East Asia


Passport Validity
Valid at time of entry
- Holders of confirmed onward tickets through Seoul Incheon (ICN), are permitted transit without visa in international transit area for up to 24 hours.
Dual Nationality
U.S. policy on dual nationality can be found here.

COVID-19 Travel Alert

Updated: 2020-08-19
  • Starting March 3, all arriving travelers must: (1) complete and submit a health questionnaire and travel record declaration, (2) get checked for COVID-19 symptoms and (3) install a self-diagnosis application in their personal device.

(Source: Incheon Airport: Special Arrival Procedure)

Temporary Suspension Of Visa Exemptions
  1. Effective August 10, the entry ban on travellers who visited or travelled to Hubei province in the preceding two weeks and the ban on holders of visas issued by Hubei authorities are both lifted.
  2. Starting April 13, visa-free entry and visa waiver programs for 90 states will be suspended. The states affected are those that are imposing entry bans on travellers from South Korea: 34 in Europe, 23 from the Americas, 18 in the Asia-Pacific region, 9 in the Middle East, and 6 in Africa. USA will not be affected, as it still allows travellers from South Korea to enter.
  3. Starting March 9, the visa waiver program for Japan is suspended, in retaliation to Japan's entry restriction on travellers from South Korea.
  1. "Korea to lift restrictions on arrivals from China's Hubei from Monday"
  2. "S. Korea to Suspend Visa Exemptions for 90 Countries Starting Monday"
  3. "Korea to suspend visa waiver program for Japan"
Conditions Of Entry
  1. Starting April 1, all arriving travelers are subject to mandatory quarantine for 14 days from the day after entry.
  2. Travelers who are long-term or residential will be required to self-quarantine at their own residences.
  3. Short-term travelers without a confirmed address in Korea are subject to quarantine at a facility designated by the Korean government. The quarantine facility is allocated randomly and cannot be changed for personal reasons. Transportation from the airport to the facility will be provided.
  4. The total expense for facility quarantine is KRW 1,680,000/US$1,414 (KRW 120,000/US$101 daily) [Note that rates given in government sources below are outdated: rates have been raised]. The expense must be paid before entering the facility. The expense is not refundable as discharge is not possible during the quarantine period. The expense includes costs for accommodation, meals, etc.
  5. Flight passengers are required to complete and submit the Agreement to Facility Quarantine prior to boarding. Otherwise, if the passenger does not submit the agreement, entry to Korea will be denied.
  1. Embassy of the Republic of Korea in the USA: Notice for Travelers [PDF download]
  2. U.S. Embassy & Consulate in the Republic of Korea
  3. "Tight surveillance, thorough health checks ensured at quarantine shelters: officials" [Quarantine facility rates raised]
New Regulation on All Foreigners Diagnosed with COVID-19
  • The Embassy of the Republic of Korea in the USA informs: "Until recently, the Republic of Korea has paid for the cost of hospitalization and treatment of all foreigners who have been diagnosed with COVID-19 virus. accordance with the principle of reciprocity, all hospitalization and treatment expenses of US nationals who have been diagnosed with COVID-19 within 14 days of entry to the Republic of Korea, but [sic] will be the responsibility of the US nationals who have been infected. This new regulation will enter into effect beginning with those who enter the Republic of Korea in August 24, 2020.
    Also, the cost of hospitalization and treatment of all foreigners, including US nationals, who are infected with COVID-19 due to their violation of COVID-19 preventive measures implemented by the Korean government such as quarantine measures and limits on group activities, and those who submit false COVID-19 examination (PCR) results, will not be provided by the Korean government beginning August 17, 2020.
    Therefore, the Embassy of the Republic of Korea recommends to US nationals, when possible, to be appropriately insured with COVID-19 treatment coverage before trip to Korea".

(Source: Embassy of the Republic of Korea in the USA )