Japan map

Region: East Asia

Pre-pandemic visa rules


Passport Validity
Valid for the intended period of stay
Other Documents
Advisable to arrive with: (1)a fixed-date, confirmed return ticket (E-tickets are also accepted) or onward journey ticket, (2) relevant documentation concerning itinerary (i.e. hotel reservations, conference details…), (3) proof of sufficient funds
- Visa-exempt passports do not require a Transit Visa. For all passports, no transit visa required for transiting through Japan within the same airport without leaving the secured area when holding onward tickets transiting on the same calendar day, or up to 72 hours through Tokyo Haneda (HND) or Osaka Kansai (KIX).
Dual Nationality
U.S. policy on dual nationality can be found here.

Additional Notes

  1. Travellers holding passports with visa exemptions permitting stays of up to 6 months under the bilateral visa exemption (Austria, Germany, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Switzerland, United Kingdom) who wish to stay for more than 90 days are required to apply for an extension before the period of permitted stay expires.
  2. For Barbados, Turkey, and Lesotho: exemption limited to ICAO-compliant Machine-Readable Passports (MRP) or ePassports.
  3. For Malaysia: exemption limited to ICAO-compliant ePassports.