Kyrgyzstan map

Region: Central Asia


Passport Validity
6 months
- Transit without visa is available for travellers with a confirmed onward ticket for a flight to a third country within 48 hours. Must stay in the international transit area of the airport and have documents required for the next destination.
Dual Nationality
U.S. policy on dual nationality can be found here.

COVID-19 Travel Alert

Updated: 2020-08-22
Limited flight resumption and entry
  1. On August 22 the Kyrgyz National News Agency (citing a report from New China News Agency) reported: "...entry is allowed for citizens of China, Russia, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Belgium, Austria, Britain, Germany, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Portugal, Turkey, Switzerland, Sweden, Qatar, UAE, Malaysia, South Korea, Pakistan, Slovenia, Kuwait and Japan".
  2. On August 20, the Kyrgyz National News Agency reported that the the following exceptions were added to the entry ban on citizens of foreign states and stateless persons: (1) students in higher educational institutions of the Kyrgyz Republic; (2) holders of permanent residence permits in the Kyrgyz Republic; (3) travellers entering for treatment to medical institutions in the Kyrgyz Republic; (4) travellers going to funerals of close relatives.
  3. For clarity, be aware that the U.S. Embassy in The Kyrgyz Republic cautions: "Please note that the entry ban on foreign travelers remains in place. Foreign travelers who hold permanent residency, or hold a valid Kyrgyz work visa, or who have an immediate Kyrgyz relative (spouse, parent, or child) and proof of relationship may be granted an exception. Exceptions now may also be made for university students (with proof of enrollment). All other travelers should not plan to travel to the Kyrgyz Republic at this time as you will be denied entry".
  4. Starting August 7, international regular flights resumed. Initially only flights to/from Turkey and the United Arab Emirates aer permitted.
  1. "Kyrgyzstan allows entry of citizens from 31 countries, including China"
  2. "Conditions of entry into Kyrgyzstan for foreigners and stateless persons simplified"
  3. U.S. Embassy in The Kyrgyz Republic
  4. "Kyrgyzstan officially resumes international flights"